Set in a public park, the oldest part of the house is a 15th century tower remodelled by the Earl of Arran between 1546 and 1550 and transformed into a stately home for the Dukes of Hamilton in the 1660s.
The grounds contain the ruins of James Watt’s cottage and the boiler of his Newcomen Engine. The House is open on special free open days during the year, organised by Historic Scotland and the charity, The Friends of Kinneil. At other times, the building can only be viewed externally.
Historic Scotland has joined forces with The Friends of Kinneil charity to run a series of free open days
this year. You’ll get the chance to see inside this impressive mansion, which dates back to the 15th century, and boasts some of the best renaissance wall paintings in Scotland. The open days will take place on:
- Saturday 31st October 2015
Tours will take place from 12 noon to 3.00pm each day (unless otherwise stated above).
Last admission is 30 minutes before closing. Children under 16 must be accompanied by an adult.
More information can be found at the Kinneil House
Kinneil MuseumKinneil Museum
which is managed by Falkirk Council, is located in the 17th century stable block of Kinneil House
The museum features the exhibition "2000 years of history"
which tells the story of the park from Roman times to the present day. There is also an audio visual show on the history of the area. Admission is free and the museum is open Monday to Saturday afternoons throughout the year.
The line of the Roman Antonine Wall runs through the surrounding Kinneil Estate, and the area is part of the Frontiers of the Roman Empire World Heritage Site. A Roman fortlet can be viewed a short walk to the west of Kinneil House. Details on this and other attractions are available from inside the museum.