A Place of Quiet ContemplationThe graceful ruins of Dryburgh Abbey nestle in wooded seclusion beside the River Tweed. On entering, the visitor immediately understands why the contemplative life of a medieval monk was attractive. The abbey was established in 1150 by white-clad Premonstratensian canons. They were invited to this idyllic spot from Alnwick Priory, Northumberland, by Hugh de Moreville. The Constable of Scotland and Lord of Lauderdale, he was himself an incomer from England.
The Cloistered LifeAt Dryburgh, the visitor gets closer to the cloistered life of the medieval monk than perhaps anywhere else in Scotland.
A Romantic Resting PlaceIn the 18th century, the ivy-clad ruin attracted the attention of David Erskine, 11th Earl of Buchan. The chief founder of the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland in 1780, Buchan purchased Dryburgh House and set about creating a charming landscape, in which the ancient abbey figured prominently.
Allan Ramsay - Master Draughtsman
Weaving the Unicorn exhibition
The Other Mary Exhibition
Ring of Brodgar Walk
Ring Of Brodgar Stone Circle and Henge
Scouse Jocks in Edinburgh
Enemy at the Gate