The browser you are using is out of date and is no longer supported. To view and use this site correctly, please update your browser to the latest version.

We're changing

We have created a new public body, Historic Environment Scotland. While we work on shaping our future we can reassure you that all services and products will continue as normal. Please follow our progress and find out more about our new organisation.

Rediscovering historic Hawick and Innerleithen

28 March 2007

Historic Scotland inspectors are to visit the Hawick and Innerleithen to identify the towns’ important buildings and to review existing listings.

The team will visit locations in these burghs looking for buildings that merit listing while giving a fresh appraisal to properties already listed. This will ensure that areas have the appropriate statutory protection.

There are currently 89 listed buildings within the burgh of Hawick and 12 listed in Innerleithen. The lists for both Burghs have not been comprehensively reviewed since the 1970s.

Head of Listing Dr Deborah Mays, said:

“Hawick and Innerleithen are steeped in history. Both communities have gone through change, of which the architectural landscape is evidence.

“There is much development pressure in this region and the resurvey will highlight the buildings of exceptional local, regional and national importance that should be preserved as best possible. It will refresh existing listings and ensure that the lists are fit to purpose.”

Buildings are listed as one of three categories that reflect their level of importance -  A, B and C(s) – and alterations that will affect the character of the structure require listed building consent before work can begin.

Once the team have identified buildings of interest in the area they will contact the local authority and the owner, where possible.

Critical to listing is special architectural and historic interest, and local residents who  know their area well can provide invaluable information that helps to inform the process.

Anyone with a particular interest in the architectural history of Hawick or Innerleithen and who wishes to find out more about the resurveys can contact the lists officer on 0131 668 8705/8701.

Following consultation with the local planning authority, Historic Scotland will then make a recommendation to The Scottish Ministers to include a building on the list if it meets the listing criteria.

Notes to Editors

  • Listed buildings are divided into three categories:
    • A – Buildings of national or international importance – either architectural or historic – or fine little-altered examples of some particular period, style or type.
    • B – Buildings of regional or more than local importance, major examples of a particular period, style or type that may have been altered.
    • C(S) – Buildings of local importance, lesser examples of any period, style or type as originally constructed or altered. Simple traditional buildings that group well with other in categories A and B are part of a planned group as an estate or an estate or an industrial complex.

  • All buildings erected before 1840, the character of which remains substantially intact, are likely to be included in the list. Later buildings are selected on the basis of their individual character and quality. Special regard is paid to:
    • planned streets, villages or burghs
    • works of well known architects
    • buildings clearly associated with famous people or events
    • major examples of buildings connected with social and industrial history and the development of communications
    • distinctive regional variations in design and use of materials
    • good examples within individual building types; and
    • technological innovation.

  • The term “building” is defined broadly in the legislation and can include walls, fountains, sundials, statues, bridges, bandstands and telephone boxes.

  • The list is compiled by Historic Scotland on behalf of The Scottish Ministers. A dedicated team within Historic Scotland’s Inspectorate undertakes the compilation, administration and maintenance of the list. Administratively, the list is organised into Council areas and then in parishes, burghs or city wards.

  • The list is constantly under review and buildings can be added to the list by three main methods:

  • By comprehensive re-survey of geographic areas
    • By thematic study looking at one particular building type (e.g. hospitals)
    • By individual proposals for buildings to be added to the list.  

  • Formal notification of listing falls to the local authority, however, where possible Historic Scotland will issue informal notification of listing, together with supporting material. Details of this can be found at

  • Although there is no formal right of appeal against listing, Historic Scotland is always prepared to consider people's views.  Listing decisions are made solely in relation to the architectural or historic interest of a building, and any reassessment of a building will be made on the same basis.

  • Historic Scotland is an executive agency of the Scottish Executive charged with safeguarding the nation’s built heritage.  It is fully accountable to Scottish Ministers and through them to the Scottish Parliament.

For further information

Lesley Brown
Communications and Media Officer
Communications and Media
0131 668 8603 or 07788 923873