The browser you are using is out of date and is no longer supported. To view and use this site correctly, please update your browser to the latest version.

We're changing

We have created a new public body, Historic Environment Scotland. While we work on shaping our future we can reassure you that all services and products will continue as normal. Please follow our progress and find out more about our new organisation.

Stronger Advisory Committee to support Scotland’s historic environment

10 June 2012

Historic Scotland’s Advisory Committee has been strengthened with the appointment of three new members to assist in driving forward the work of the agency.

Eleanor McAllister OBE, Professor Stephen Driscoll and Andrew Wright OBE have been appointed by the agency to the role of Non-Executive Members of the Advisory Committee and will join the committee’s existing four members – boosting its breadth of experience and reflecting the ambitions and expectations of the country’s historic environment sector.

The Advisory Committee format was set up on 1st April 2012 and replaced the former Board structure. The Committee is charged with providing support and advice to Historic Scotland’s senior management on the overall long-term strategic direction and vision of the agency, as well as focusing on progress against the priorities and commitments outlined in the agency’s Corporate Plan.

The new members offer a significant amount of expertise in the fields of archaeology, building conservation and architecture. This adds to the existing experience  Professor John Lennon, Raymond Young, Bob Stewart and Neil Taylor who currently sit on the Committee.

  • Eleanor McAllister is currently project sponsor for the new campus building at Glasgow School of Art. She has had extensive experience of regeneration initiatives, and most recently she was  Chief Executive of Clydebank Re-built Ltd. Eleanor is currently a member of the National Heritage Lottery Scotland Committee, and of the National Economic Forum for Scotland, and is a former member of Historic Environment Advisory Council for Scotland (HEACS)
  • Stephen Driscoll is Professor of Historical Archaeology at the University of Glasgow. He is currently investigating Scotland’s Pictish and prehistoric origins as a co-director of the Strathearn Environs and Royal Forteviot project. He is also participating in community-based efforts to regenerate central Govan drawing upon the rich local heritage resources, not least the remarkable Early Medieval sculpture at Govan Old Church.
  • Andrew Wright is a Chartered Architect and Heritage Consultant, a past president of Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland, and a former member of the Royal Fine Art Commission for Scotland, the Ancient Monuments Board for Scotland and HEACS

Ruth Parsons, Historic Scotland Chief Executive, welcomed the new appointments. She said: "We are delighted that Eleanor, Andrew and Stephen will be joining our Advisory Committee and work closely with our senior management team to assist, advise and challenge us on our vision and direction. They bring to the agency a huge amount of experience and knowledge across the historic environment.

"These appointments complement the breadth and depth of expertise of our existing committee members and will support our senior management in driving forward our Corporate Plan and ensuring we are well placed to meet the needs and ambitions of the sector.

"We look forward to working with the new Advisory Committee to strengthen the work of Historic Scotland in safeguarding our historic environment and delivering sustainable growth in the future."

All Advisory Committee members do not receive a salary, but they are paid a daily rate for any business they undertake on Historic Scotland’s behalf. The three new members join the committee with immediate effect.

Notes for editors:

The four current Advisory Committee members are:
  • Professor John Lennon is Professor and Director of the Moffat Centre for Travel and Tourism Business Development; Head of Department of Management, Glasgow Caledonian University; Director Oplevelsernes Academy, Denmark ; Specialist Policy Advisor VisitScotland; Principal Advisor Scottish Government All Party Tourism Inquiry 2007-09.
  • Raymond Young is is a General Trustee of the Church of Scotland and a former visiting professor to the Department of Architecture, University of Strathclyde.
  • Bob Stewart is a Fellow of the Royal Town Planning Institute, a Member of the Chartered Institute of Management and the former Director of Environmental Services with Moray Council.
  • Neil Taylor is a member of the Office of the Scottish Parliamentary Counsel (OSPC). Neil is a qualified solicitor and was seconded to Historic Scotland for nine  months during the Parliamentary passage of the Historic Environment (Amendment) (Scotland) Act 2011. He also served as interim Chief Operating Officer for a short period during the secondment. Neil has an MA(Hons) in English and Philosophy from the University of Glasgow and an LLB(Dist) from the University of Edinburgh.

  1. Historic Scotland is an executive agency of the Scottish Government charged with ensuring that our historic environment provides a strong foundation for a successful future for Scotland. The agency is fully accountable to Scottish Ministers and through them to the Scottish Parliament.

  2. To register for media release email alerts from If you wish to unsubscribe at any time, please email

  3. The Year of Creative Scotland began on January 1, 2012 and will spotlight and celebrate Scotland’s cultural and creative strengths on a world stage. Through a dynamic and exciting year-long programme of activity celebrating our world-class events, festivals, culture and heritage, the year puts Scotland’s culture and creativity in the international spotlight with a focus on cultural tourism and developing the events industry and creative sector in Scotland. More information about the programme can be found at:

  4. The Year of Creative Scotland is a Scottish Government initiative led in partnership by EventScotland, VisitScotland, Creative Scotland and VOCAL. More information and resources to help businesses engage with Year of Creative Scotland are available at

                                                       Year of Creative Scotland 2012

For further information

John MacNeil
Media Relations Manager
Communications and Media
0131 668 8600 or 07854 366 827