The browser you are using is out of date and is no longer supported. To view and use this site correctly, please update your browser to the latest version.

We're changing

We have created a new public body, Historic Environment Scotland. While we work on shaping our future we can reassure you that all services and products will continue as normal. Please follow our progress and find out more about our new organisation.

Non-executive Members of the Advisory Committee

Professor John Lennon

John Lennon, Non-Executive

Professor John Lennon, Professor and Director of the Moffat Centre for Travel and Tourism Business Development; Head of Department of Cultural Business, Glasgow Caledonian University; Director Oplevelsernes Academy, Denmark ; Specialist Policy Advisor VisitScotland; Principal Advisor Scottish Government All Party Tourism Inquiry 2007-09

Raymond Young

Raymond Young, Non-Executive

Raymond Young, visiting professor to the Department of Architecture, University of Strathclyde.

Bob Stewart

Bob Stewart

Bob Stewart is a Fellow of the Royal Town Planning Institute, a Member of the Chartered Institute of Management and the former Director of Environmental Services with Moray Council.

Neil Taylor

Neil Taylor, Non-Executive

Neil Taylor is a member of the Office of the Advocate General for Scotland (OAG).  OAG is the UK government's Scottish legal team. It provides legal advice, drafting and litigation services to the UK government in relation to Scotland.

Neil joined the civil service in 1995 and from 2002 to 2013 was a member the Office of the Scottish Parliamentary Counsel (OSPC). OSPC is the legal office responsible for drafting all Bills that the Scottish Government introduces in the Scottish Parliament.

Neil is a qualified solicitor and was seconded to Historic Scotland for nine months during the Parliamentary passage of the Historic Environment (Amendment) (Scotland) Act 2011. He also served as interim Chief Operating Officer for a short period during the secondment. Neil has an MA(Hons) in English and Philosophy from the University of Glasgow and an LLB(Dist) from the University of Edinburgh.

He was appointed as a Non-Executive Director in July 2011.

Eleanor McAllister

Eleanor McAllister, Non-Executive

Eleanor McAllister is currently project sponsor for the new campus building at Glasgow School of Art. She has had extensive experience of regeneration initiatives, and most recently she was  Chief Executive of Clydebank Re-built Ltd. Eleanor is currently a member of the National Heritage Lottery Scotland Committee and of the National Economic Forum for Scotland, and is a former member of Historic Environment Advisory Council for Scotland (HEACS).

Stephen Driscoll

Stephen Driscoll, Non-Executive

Stephen Driscoll is Professor of Historical Archaeology at the University of Glasgow. He is currently investigating Scotland’s Pictish and prehistoric origins as a co-director of the Strathearn Environs and Royal Forteviot project. He is also participating in community-based efforts to regenerate central Govan drawing upon the rich local heritage resources, not least the remarkable Early Medieval sculpture at Govan Old Church.

Andrew Wright

Andrew Wright, Non-Executive

Andrew Wright is a Chartered Architect and Heritage Consultant, a past president of Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland and a former member of the Royal Fine Art Commission for Scotland, the Ancient Monuments Board for Scotland and HEACS

Contact us

Historic Scotland
Longmore House
Salisbury Place
Tel: + 44 (0) 131 668 8600